ASEAN Economic Community Survey

  • Print
  • Connect
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Google+
By Michael Daly, Richard W. Holloway | 20 February 2014

The ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) has set a goal of regional economic integration across its 10 member states of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. One of the goals for the AEC is to transform ASEAN into a region with free movement of goods, services, investment, skilled labour and capital. It is becoming an increasing topical issue, as the planned launch date of 31 December 2015 approaches fast.

Milliman recently carried out an online survey amongst life insurance executives working in the ASEAN markets to gauge their views on certain aspects related to the introduction of the AEC. We are pleased to present the results of the survey, which drew a wide response, with 86 respondents from all of the ASEAN member states except Laos, plus responses from individuals based in other markets with ASEAN responsibilities.